Multi-tool-store.co.uk Reviews

4.84 Rating 2,101 Reviews
96 %
of reviewers recommend Multi-tool-store.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Courier, Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
99%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
98%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Email, Telephone, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour

Write Your review

Tell us how Multi-tool-store.co.uk made you happy
Help future customers by talking about customer service, price, delivery, returns & refunds.
Minimum 10 characters
Would you like to add a photos or videos?
Strengthen your review by uploading photos & videos.
Drag files here or browse
(Supported files: jpg, png, mpeg, ogg, mp4 & webm)
What's your name?
Leave this blank if you'd like to publish your review anonymously.
(Optional)
What's your email?
We need your email address to verify that your review is genuine
Please note that we may share your email with the company to verify your order.
Difficult to navigate website.Finally spoke to Caitlin who was very helpful.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Usually the seller waits till the product arrives and then asks for customer reviews.. The product hasn't arrived yet,as for the delivery,it would be better to give customers the option to choose express delivery. I paid a lot of money for the product only to have it sent to me via some cheap delivery method that takes weeks to arrive... it just doesn't make sense. I don't want to wait for weeks,i want it as fast as possible. Just some food for thought..
Helpful Report
Posted 2 months ago
Hi Dan, thank you for your feedback - I can see that we have shipped to Israel for you, the carrier has recommended a 10 working day delivery time and I can see it's not yet reached you. We have now moved to a different carrier for international orders, which will offer alternative delivery options. I trust the tool will arrive soon, but do contact us if you have any concerns at customerservice@outdoor365.co.uk Kind regards, Jude Multi-tool Store
Posted 2 months ago
Box was already opened and had its seal broken on arrival. Product looked fine but had clearly been handled before. Disappointing as it was a gift.
Helpful Report
Posted 4 months ago
Leather is thin and my leatherman moved around a lot
Helpful Report
Posted 6 months ago
Whilst the website was good, and I know Leatherman products, the site wouldn't accept my order and it took about 40 minutes including calling the store (who were very helpful). What frustrated me was that I hadn't realised that the Surge didn't come with a clip/lanyard ring. It wasn't on the options. It's now cost me over £10, just for a couple of bits of bent metal. My suggestion as well as all the other options to purchase with the tool include the belt clip/lanyard holder.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I ordered 3 items and only receiveed 1 if the 3 and had to wait on the other 2 items.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Easy to use site, quick dispatch of purchase, speedy arrival ........ all let down by poor response (none) when querying a faulty product! Strange how such a positive start can be let down by poor follow up to a minor issue. Food for thought.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Thank you for the opportunity to write a review This being my first purchase of a leatherman I don't know what the build quality is supposed to be like As for the surge I purchased the pliers Jaws rub the inside of the handset when folded up so much so that there are wair marks on the Jaws and when folded up for storage the main body (handles) of the surge are noticeably out of like to me this doesn't seem like a particularly good quality item Especially considering the price tag.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
The ordering was simple, the price good, the delivery fast, but the watch I purchased (leatherman) was not working when it arrived, great communication with the customer services, they sent a reterns lable straight away and it was posted this morning and I should receive a replacement ASAP. Overall a good place to shop.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I have not looked at item yet as a birthday gift but I felt a little disappointed with gift wrap for the price. Very poor just advertising ribbon. Also no confirmation email of my order so not 100% sure it had gone through. I must when I contacted your customer services about it I got a good response. I'd appreciate your comments. Kind regards.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
Hi Carolyn, sorry you werent happy with our gift wrapping service. The gift wrapping should be identical to the image of the gift wrap on the page. You should have recieved two emails from us. 1. Order Confirmation and 2. Order Despatch. Its possible these are in your junk email folder, as this can happen on occasion. Many thanks Matt
Posted 1 year ago
purchased a deluxe accessory kit for 49.95. the kit arrived but the pouch did not have the elasticated storage facility on the side to house the bit extender which was included in the kit. It really is not fit for purpose. i have been in touch with matt at multi store but do not seem to have got anywhere . customer care is seriously lacking and will think very carefully before using multi store again kind regards chris
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I got the leatherman style multi knife. It's tiny, a lot smaller than it appears on the Web site. Could have maybe do e with being displayed next to the dearer leatherman multi tool knifes which are about 3-4 times bigger
Helpful Report
Posted 1 year ago
I wrote an Email to Customer Service, so I can justify the not so good service I received...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Hi Vassilios, I've checked where your parcel is and I will send the tracking for this directly to you. I'm very sorry you did not receive the tracking details - I believe the long Bank Holiday weekend in the UK has slowed down your delivery. Best wishes, Jude Customer Services
Posted 2 years ago
Ordering process was straight forward. However, after sending payment no acknowledgement was received. Had to chase up. Communication was slow. Delivery took far longer than was suggested at the point of ordering (quoted as next day, took over a week). In the end I got what I ordered for a reasonable price, however with my money taken and initially no communication it rather left me feeling spooked, so I am unlikely to use this service again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
Thanks for your review Steven. The delay in delivery was due to a failure in passing our age verification which is a legal requirement for us to sell bladed products. We subsequently spoke to you and this was cleared through. Apologies for the delay - generally we aim to better our delivery window.
Posted 2 years ago
I before E except after C. simples...
Helpful Report
Posted 2 years ago
While the service was quick the engraving was disappointing as is faint and I would not recommend paying extra for. Go elsewhere for engraving.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Paul Sorry to hear that the engraving wasnt up to standard. Id be happy for you to send in for a replacement using our free returns service. Many thanks Matt
Posted 3 years ago
Leatherman oht good , but wrong colour Molle sheath sent , still waiting to receive the right one
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi Gary, Thank you for your review. I am sorry you have received the wrong sheath, as discussed over the phone, we have sent you the correct one on Express delivery and it is showing on Royal Mail as delivered on the 26th? Please let us know if you have not received this. Kind Regards, Sabina
Posted 3 years ago
The multi tools arrived quickly, but the boxes were quite bashed which makes them less appealing to give as a gift - they look as if I have had them at the bottom of my bag for a couple of weeks. Also, the Squirt that I bought was SO TINY! From the photos and the price, there was no way of knowing how small it was going to be. The scissors are o.k. for the sewing kit, but not for anything useful. It's more of a key fob than a multi tool. Unfortunately I cannot return it as it has an engraving on it. All in all, not that happy with my experience.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, I am sorry to hear that the boxes have been damaged in transit. It is a shame you have not got in touch with us as we could have sent metal gift boxes out to you as an alternative to the damaged ones. We also offer a free return service for 60 days from the date of purchase. If you would like to return items that have been engraved, and there is nothing wrong with them otherwise, we credit your account and you can use this credit against future purchases. Kind Regards, Sabina
Posted 3 years ago
Great little Leatherman Juice at a decent price. Arrived quickly. Box slightly damaged and free gift promised was not included.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Hi There, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the that your parcel did not include the sharpening stone. I have set this out to you separately. I have also included a metal tin for the Leatherman Juice As an apology for the damaged box. Kind Regards, Sabina
Posted 3 years ago
Very quick delivery, expected to take longer as I had engraving done so very impressed. Not 100% happy with the packaging, box was a bit battered by the time I got it in the post and would have thought for £100 + spending and value of goods £170+ would have been presented better.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 years ago
Multi-tool-store.co.uk is rated 4.84 based on 2,101 reviews